What to take away from the CFDA Fashion Awards 2021?


A few days ago in New York, the famous annual CFDA Fashion Awards ceremony was held, which rewards the designers and personalities who shape the fashion sphere in the United States and around the world. From actress Zendaya to Demna Gvasalia, Grace Wales Bonner and Christopher John Rogers: find out who the big winners of the evening were!

American Womenswear Designer of The Year : Christopher John Rogers

Originally from Baton Rouge, Louisiana, Christopher John Rogers studied at the Savannah College of Art and Design before founding his eponymous brand in 2018. Since then, he has already dressed Beyoncé, Amanda Gorman, Michelle Obama, Lizzo, Zendaya, Ashley Graham and Lady Gaga. His graphic, oversized and ultra-coloured aesthetic, which oscillates between his admiration for fashion designers such as Charles James or Christian Lacroix and his African-American heritage, has just been rewarded at the CFDA. He won one of the most popular titles: American Womenswear Designer of the Year.

American Menswear Designer of The Year : Emily Adams Bode Aujla

A true declaration of love for vintage and historical techniques, the Bode brand founded by Emily Bode made its debut in 2016. In fact, she was the first designer to exhibit at New York Men’s Week. In June 2019, she held her first show at Paris Fashion Week for men. Born in Atlanta, she graduated from Parsons School of Design and Eugene Lang College. If she already won the first CFDA American Emerging Designer of the Year in 2019, this year marks a new consecration. The 32-year-old designer has won the prestigious title of American Menswear Designer of The Year.

International Women’s Designer of The Year : Demna Gvasalia

This new award only confirms the incredible empire built by the Georgian designer. The graduate of the Royal Academy of Fine Arts in Antwerp, who cut his teeth at Louis Vuitton and Margiela before founding the underground brand Vetements, has been at the head of Balenciaga since 2015. Not surprisingly, Demna Gvasalia won the International Women’s Designer of The Year.

International Men’s Designer of The Year : Grace Wales Bonner

After graduating from Central Saint Martins in 2014, winning the L’Oreal Talent Award and receiving the LVMH Prize in 2016, Grace Wales Bonner has more than proven herself in the fashion world. The woman whose collaborations with adidas are a hit every time and whose designs breathe British Afro-Caribbean heritage is once again being rewarded. Her richly multicultural essence that explores issues of identity and representation, drawing ideas from art, literature and music, was well worth this new and important award: International Men’s Designer of The Year.

American Accessories Designer of the Year : Telfar Clemens

On the accessories front, the CFDA once again crowned Telfar Clemens! This genderless, ecofriendly, accessible and unpretentious brand ticks all the boxes of cool and well-made. After a virtual award ceremony in 2020, the phenomenal success of the Telfar brand and its iconic shopping bag has been rewarded again in 2021. Available in three sizes (small, medium and large), sold from $150 to $257 and offered in a multitude of colours, this minimalist model in vegan leather has been the symbol of a whole generation since 2014.

American Emerging Designer of the Year : Edvin Thompson

From his native Kingston, Jamaica, to the Cool Kids Crew he started in high school in New York with a group of friends, Edvin Thompson took the creative route at a young age. After internships for Amanda Uprichard and Gypsy Sport, his idea to create the Theophilio brand was taking shape with precision. In the summer of 2016, he launched his first collection called “Melancholy”. Since then, he has been exploring his Jamaican heritage and his interpretation of America, discovered at the age of 9 through his inclusive label as sustainable. He was awarded the American Emerging Designer of the Year.

Zendaya, Dapper Dan, Anya Taylor-Joy…

Finally, there are also three honorary awards given to beloved faces who shape fashion. Actress and recently appointed Dior ambassador Anya Taylor-Joy for the inaugural Face of the Year award. The star of Dune and Euphoria aka Zendaya who wins the Fashion Icon award. And finally, legendary subversive fashion designer Dapper Dan who receives the Geoffrey Beene Lifetime Achievement Award for his life’s work and dizzying influence on fashion today.


#HowToStyle: Lisa in 5 looks

Vans collaborates with rapper Tierra Whack